Prime Minister May is ’11 letters away from vote of no confidence’


Tories trying to trigger a vote of no confidence in Theresa May are believed to be eleven letters in need of the required forty eight.

Previously the group had been assured they would reach the crucial amount as early as Friday evening, however according to The Sun they’re stuck at thirty seven. Thus far twenty three MPs, together with Martin Vickers, Nadine Dorries and Jacob Rees-Mogg, have all gone public with letters they have handed in to the 1922 committee.

Theresa may has faced a series of resignations from the cabinet and votes of no confidence from MPs

It’s believed party whips are ordered to remain in Westminster for the weekend during a battle to keep unsure MPs on side. If forty eight letters are eventually handed in, it’ll mean that fifteen per cent of the party have chosen to select a replacement leader, triggering a reelection within which Mrs May will not be allowed to stand. However despite the lack of support, the Prime Minister is fighting on, appointing Amber Rudd the new Work and Pensions Secretary and bringing forward Steve Barclay, a former health minister, to the role of Brexit Secretary.

Yet five cabinet members are thought to have only agreed to remain on in an effort to help change the 585-page withdrawal agreement. The so-called Gang of five are Michael Gove, Penny Mourdaunt, Liam Fox, Andrea Leadsom and Chris Grayling.

Jacob Rees-Mogg has submitted a vote of no confidence letter

Mr Gove expressed that he had ‘absolute’ confidence in the Prime Minister, while International Trade Secretary Dr Fox said it was ‘in the national interest’ to back her. The group plan on going back to Brussels to renegotiate the draft agreed once it’s been voted down within the House of Commons.

Ms Rudd has additionally stated that MPs considering submitting votes of no confidence ought to ‘think again’, stating:

‘This isn’t a time for changing our leader. ‘This is a time for pulling together, for making sure we remember who we are here to serve, who we are here to help: that’s the whole of the country.’

However Steve Baker, MP for Wycombe and Eurosceptic, has insisted that those wanting Mrs may out of leadership are confident they will get their forty eight letters by next week.

Mr Rees-Mogg says that Boris Johnson is ‘very capable of leading a proper Brexit’

Which MPs do we know have sent letters of no confidence?

Ben Bradley
Jacob Rees-Mogg
Steve Baker
Nadine Dorries
Andrew Bridgen
Mark Francois
Simon Clarke
Sheryll Murray
Andrea Jenkyns
James Duddridge
Anne Marie Morris
Peter Bone
Lee Rowley
Philip Davies
Henry Smith
Martin Vickers
Laurence Robertson
John Whittingdale
Maria Caulfield
Adam Holloway
Marcus Fysh
Chris Green
David Jones

He stated that he knew enough MPs who were considering putting pen to paper – however did admit that solely Sir Graham Brady, chairman of the Tory backbench 1922 Committee, will know for sure how many have followed through. ‘People have been ringing me and they are telling me that they’re putting letters in,’ he told BBC2’s Politics Live. ‘I have spoken to colleagues, and I think we are probably not far off. I think it is probably imminent.’

Brexiteer ringleader Mr Rees-Mogg held a chaotic press conference demanding Mrs May be replaced yesterday, naming Boris Johnson, Dominic Raab, David Davis and Penny Mordaunt as ‘very capable of leading a proper Brexit’. While his deputy on the European research group Mark Francois issued a vicious letter headlined ‘She just doesn’t listen’. ‘The Prime Minister has been surrounded throughout this process by a Pretorian Guard of highly pro-European senior civil servants who, I believe, have never accepted the result of the referendum,’ he said. The MP for Rayleigh and Wickford added: ‘Now the details of the deal are available we can see how truly awful it is.’


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here